Stephanie's Political Arena

Critiques and Perspectives on National Politics and More

Missing in Action… but not for much longer

with 2 comments

It appears as though I’ve been on hiatus from this blog for far too long again.  To the dedicated readers and followers of this blog, I offer my apologies and hope you hang in there for just a bit longer… ’cause I’ll be GRADUATING IN TWO WEEKS!! 🙂  Then, it will be time to celebrate Christmas with my family before I ring in the new year European style and then return to posting on this blog in time for something called the presidential primaries.

Speaking of Europe, I encourage you to check out the new blog I created this semester: http://globalcitizenjournalist.wordpress.com/.  I am currently enrolled in International Development Communications, a class for which I am required to complete a final semester project.  And so, Journalism’s Global Citizenry was born!

The focus of this new blog is on the emergence of citizen journalism amid the growth of and greater access to online media.  I admit this new blog is a bit “wonkier” with a more academic focus than Stephanie’s Political Arena, and you may find it useful on nights when you can’t seem to fall asleep; however, I intend for it to be a learning tool for myself and readers as I provide insight into research analyzing the growth and significance of global citizen journalism, the advantages/disadvantages it poses to traditional media, and how it could threaten and/or benefit global security and international diplomacy in the long run.

Once I finally wrap up that sought-after M.A. and have only my full-time job, learning Danish, and occasional globe-trotting to focus on, I plan to make room in my schedule for an occasional post or two to this blog as well as my other blog.  Until then, I’m off to wrap up my blog project, final portfolio, and final research paper now that I’ve recently survived presenting at another public opinion conference – all while still working full-time.  Has Christmas vacation arrived, yet? 😉

Written by Stephanie

December 2, 2011 at 1:46 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Stephanie. Congratulations on your graduation, its quite the accomplishment. I was wondering if you would have any advice for someone, like me, who is interested in getting involved in government and politics, but does not know where to start?

    Thanks,
    Jared

    Jared

    February 1, 2012 at 3:52 am

    • Hi Jared!

      Thank you so much for the compliment! The best way to start working in politics is by getting involved as a volunteer with a campaign. Fortunately, we just happened to enter a very big election year full of opportunities for getting involved. 🙂 The best place to start is the website of the party with which you are affiliated (Democrat, Republican, etc.) in the state where you live. There, you should be able to find more information about volunteer opportunities from the Presidential contest all the way down to state and local races. Volunteering for a campaign is not glamorous by any means, but the grassroots efforts of door-knocking, making phone calls, and stuffing envelopes go a loooooong way in helping your candidate win their race.

      If you are a college student or a graduate student, check in with your school’s political science department for internship opportunities with an elected official at the local, state, or federal level. You can do this even if you are not majoring in Political Science or Government. In fact, I know a number of people working in politics today who majored in subject areas such as Chemistry, English, Engineering, and Accounting, to name a few. Different subject areas can actually be an asset given the wide range of issues addressed through public policy and the expertise needed to resolve these issues.

      Through volunteering on the campaign trail or working as an intern, you will have the opportunity to network and meet a LOT of influential people. If you prove yourself, they will generally take notice and either offer to help you find paid work in politics or just offer you a job. Or, they’ll keep you in mind until later on when they have an opening in their office. Just keep in touch with as many people as possible as you encounter them as this will further increase the number of opportunities that will become available to you in the long run.

      I hope this helps. Good Luck!

      Stephanie

      February 4, 2012 at 3:25 am


Leave a Reply

